ITIL 2011 Intermediate - Lifecycle - Continual Service Improvement 

Duration:3 days

Course Description:

ITIL is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition,Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement, promoting alignment with the business as well as improving operational efficiency. The official ITIL qualification scheme describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream.The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The prime focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the process and practice elements used within it.The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of ITIL processes and roles. Attention to the Service Lifecycle is illustrated as part of the curriculum but the primary focus is the on the process activities, execution and use throughout the Service Lifecycle.The ITIL CSI (Continual Service Improvement) course is part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle certification stream. The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL Continual Service Improvement Intermediate exam as well as providing valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace.

Course and Learning Objectives:

At the end of this course, you will learn:

  • The purpose and objectives of Continual Service Improvement
  • How Continual Service Improvement integrates with the stages in the Lifecycle
  • How Continual Service Improvement depends upon an understanding of change within an organization
  • The nature of the activities and the skills required for the 7 step improvement process
  • How tools can assist some or all of the activities in the Continual Service Improvement process
  • The effects on an organization of the challenges facing Continual Service Improvement

Course Approach:

Participants will learn the principles and core elements along with the activities and technology & implementation considerations within the Continual Service Improvement stage of the Service Lifecycle. An interactive approach is used combining lecture, discussion and case study experience to prepare participants for the ITIL Intermediate Continual Service Improvement certification exam as well as providing valuable practical knowledge that can be rapidly applied in the workplace. Quint Wellington Redwood’s integrated case study deepens the participant’s appreciation of how ITIL best practices can be applied in order to improve IT performance.Practical assignments are used throughout the course to enhance the learning experience.

Course Student Material:

Students will receive an ITIL Continual Service Improvement classroom workbook containing all of the presentation materials, course notes, case study and sample exams.

Concepts Covered:


  • Purpose and objectives of Continual Service Improvement
  • Scope of Continual Service Improvement
  • Approach to Continual Service Improvement
  • Interfaces with other ITIL Lifecycle stages


  • How the success of CSI depends upon an understanding of change upon an organization
  • How CSI drives the adoption of, and is influenced by, Service Level Management
  • How the Deming Cycle is critical to both the implementation and application of CSI
  • Effective use of the various aspects of Service Measurement
  • Knowledge Management and improvement initiatives
  • CSI and good governance where goals are aligned and good management is achieved.
  • How frameworks, models, standards and quality systems fully support the concepts embodied in CSI


  • The 7-step improvement process.
  • How CSI integrates with the other stages in the Service Lifecycle
  • Service Reporting and articulate reporting policies and rules
  • Service Measurement
  • The importance of properly defining metrics and measurements
  • The concept of Return on Investment for CSI and how to create a return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved
  • The various Business questions for CSI
  • The relationship between CSI and Service Level Management


  • What to assess and when
  • Using gap analysis to identify areas with room for improvement
  • Benchmarking
  • Measuring and Reporting frameworks such as the BSC and SWOT analysis
  • The Deming Cycle
  • The relationships and interfaces with other service management processes
  • Effective use of availability management techniques by CSI
  • Effective use of capacity management techniques by CSI
  • ITSCM requirements and using Risk Management to identify areas for improvement
  • Support from Problem management


  • The nature of the activities and the skills required for the 7-step improvement process
  • The responsibilities, skills and competencies for:
  • Service Manager
  • CSI Manager
  • Service Owner
  • How authority matrices (RACI) can very used when defining communication procedures in the CSI process


  • How the following tools can be used to assist some or all of the activities of the Continual Service
  • Improvement process
  • IT service management suites
  • System and network management
  • Event management
  • Automated Incident/Problem resolution
  • Performance Management
  • Statistical Analysis tools
  • Project and Portfolio Management
  • Financial management
  • Business Intelligence reporting


  • Where to start
  • The role of Governance to CSI
  • The effect of Organizational Change for CSI
  • A Communications strategy and Plan


  • The effects on an organization of the challenges facing Continual Service Improvement
  • The appropriate critical success factors for Continual Service Improvement
  • The potential impact if the risks associated with implementing CSI
  • The potential value to business, benefits and costs


  • 2 Sample Exams
  • Feedback
  • Recap

About the Examination:

Exam Format:

Multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient

scored questions.

Number of Questions: 8

Pass Score: 28/40 or 70%

Exam Delivery: Online or paper based

Exam Duration: 90 minutes

Open/Closed Book: Closed Book


An ITIL Foundation certificate and preferably two years work experience in an IT Service Management environment


Upon successfully achieving the ITIL Continual Service Improvement certificate,students earn 3 credits in the ITIL qualification scheme.

Project Management Institute – Professional

Development Units (PDUs) = 28

Target Audience:

CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff,team leaders, designers, architects, planners,IT consultants, IT audit managers and IT security managers who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL Continual Service Improvement phase of the ITIL Lifecycle as well as the processes, functions and activities required to apply them.